JEFFERSON COUNTY HIGHWAY COMMITTEE INFRASTRUCTURE COMMITTEE JOINT MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

The Jefferson County Highway Committee and Infrastructure Committee met on Wednesday, November 17, 2010, at 8:30 A.M. for a joint meeting at the Jefferson County Highway Department.

ROLL OF THE HIGHWAY & INFRASTRUCTURE COMMITTEES:

Members present: Ron Buchanan; Glen Borland; George Jaeckel; Blane Poulson; Donald Reese;	
	Mary Delany; Richard Jones; Jim Schroeder
Members absent:	Craig Peterson; Rick Kuhlman
Also Present:	William Kern, Highway Commissioner
	Gary Petre, County Administrator
	Phil Ristow, Corporation Counsel
	John Molinaro, County Board Chairperson
	James Braughler, County Board Supervisor
	Ann Jenswold, Highway Department
	John Cain, Venture Architects

Purpose of the meeting was to discuss and take possible action on proceeding with the process of determining future Highway Department facility needs.

The following was discussed:

6. Discussion and possible action on proceeding with the process of determining future Highway Department facility needs.

Highway Commissioner Kern opened the meeting by stating that the past facility studies showed that the Highway Department was in need of a new facility. The discussion needs to proceed to whether the County is going to move forward with the facility. Discussion also needs to take place regarding whether the Department stays here on site, or moves off site.

County Administrator, Gary Petre, stated that the 2011 adopted budget allows for \$250,000.00 for a facility needs site assessment. He proposed that the Committees take a look at what steps need to be taken to proceed, what current information we have on hand, and where is the best location for this facility. He stated that possibly there should be a sub-committee formed to report back to the two main committees.

Infrastructure Committee Chair, Donald Reese, posed the question "What does the City of Jefferson see for this area?" He believes that the City is in favor of the facility moving off site, but staying within the City. He stated that the City of Jefferson would like to redevelop this area.

Corporation Counsel, Phil Ristow, presented information on the City's future plan for this area. He stated that the Committees need to look at the needs of the Department if it stays here for 5 years, or whether it stays here for 50 years.

County Board Chair, John Molinaro, stated that Jefferson County is probably the only county within the state with no bonding issues at this time. He commented on interest rates being good now.

Commissioner Kern stated that the Waterloo building is a 60 year old heated shop with no place to store materials. The Ixonia shop is also 60 years old with no place for material storage. The Lake Mills building is a salt shed, there is no building. Concord is also a salt shed. There is no heated storage building. The Palmyra building has been closed now for several years. He stated that for the most part these buildings are non-functional. He stated that the future of Lake Mills and Concord area, after updates, could accommodate a couple of workers with materials and equipment.

The Highway Committee and Infrastructure Committees discussed various advantages and disadvantages to moving the facility. The idea of moving forward was unanimous. The RFP process can proceed without County Board approval. There will be a need for a County Board Resolution if the contracted amount would go over the \$25,000.00 limit. The Highway Commissioner will proceed with the environmental study.

It was moved by Mr. Poulson and seconded by Mr. Borland to pursue the RFP, all sites involved.

Carried by the following roll call:

AYES: Buchanan; Borland; Jaeckel; Poulson NOES: None ABSENT: Peterson ABSTAIN: None

It was moved by Mr. Jones and seconded by Mr. Reese to join and combine with the Highway Committee to pursue the RFP process.

Carried by the following roll call: AYES: Reese; Delany; Jones; Schroeder NOES: None ABSENT: Kuhlman ABSTAIN: None

It was moved by Mr. Jaeckel and seconded by Mr. Borland to adjourn at 9:22 a.m.

Carried by the following roll call:

AYES: Buchanan; Borland; Jaeckel; Poulson NOES: None ABSENT: Peterson ABSTAIN: None It was moved by Mr. Reese and seconded by Mr. Schroeder to adjourn at 9:22 a.m.

Carried by the following roll call:

AYES: Reese; Delany; Jones; Schroeder NOES: None ABSENT: Kuhlman ABSTAIN: None

Approval: